Washoe Country School District

April 16, 2014

Change Font Size


General Counsel / Legal Division

Mission Statement

With an emphasis on superior customer service, the Office of the General Counsel will represent the Washoe County School District in any and all appropriate legal matters, cases, opinions, issues and questions as well as provide counsel and training to District staff, thereby contributing to the District's mission to graduate every student college and highly skilled career ready.

Major Functions


The Office of the General Counsel

  • Renders all necessary legal opinions for the Board of Trustees, and represent the Board in specific problems and issues requiring the services of legal counsel.
  • Provides appropriate legal assistace to District staff by providing advice related to guardianship/custody issues, contract review, and representation in legal matters where the District is a named party and/or the named staff member was acting within the course and scope of his/her employment.  Click here for a list of Frequently Asked Questions.
  • Partners with other District offices/departments to provide trainings in such areas as FERPA and employee discipline.  Click here for presentation/training materials.

Division of Policies and Regulatory Compliance

  • Manages the creation and revision of Board Policy and Administrative Regulations.
  • Partners with the Department of Government Affairs to insure regulatory compliance between the District and state law, federal code, etc.

Department of Administrative Investigators

  • Investigates allegations of misconduct involving District employees and work in conjunction with the Office of Human Resources - Labor Relations Department to address any such misconduct.

Process Maps


The Office of the General Counsel has mapped several of its processes.  Use the following links to view them:

Additional Resources
 

  • The Additional Resources page will provide links to Board Policy, state law and other valuable sources of information. 

Contact Us:


Randy A. Drake, Esq., Chief General Counsel
rdrake@washoeschools.net 

Christopher B. Reich, Esq., General Counsel
creich@washoeschools.net

Sara K. Almo, Esq., Associate General Counsel
salmo@washoeschools.net

Breanne Read, Executive Assistant
775-348-0300
Fax: 775-333-6010
Email: legal@washoeschools.net

Lisa Scurry, Coordinator, Policies & Regulatory Compliance
775-789-4621
lascurry@washoeschools.net

Walter Lyman, Jr., Administrative Investigator
775-348-0276
wclyman@washoeschools.net

W. Mike Morton, Administrative Investigator
775-348-0275
mwmorton@washoeschools.net

Fax:  775-325-2088


 This webpage is maintained by Lisa Scurry, WCSD Office of the General Counsel.